life is good. crazy… but good.

Alright, I’ll admit it. Lately, I have stunk at blogging. In the words of the Grinch… “Stink, Stank, Stunk!”

But,  I’ll have you know that it wasn’t for lack of interesting things to blog about.

My last post was innnn….. May?
Let’s start there.

May: Spent the month in Cambodia, running village clinics with the bomb-diggity-est team of people ever. Flew to Korea. Travelled to Korea for a day. Flew to Hawaii. Spent a week in Hawaii re-capping all of that six-month medical missions adventure. Flew to a different island of Hawaii. Reunited with a future sister-in-law (although that wasn’t confirmed quite yet ;) ), vacationed.

June: Vacationed in Hawaii for two weeks. Flew home. Reunited with Canada after six months away. Swung on the swings and laid on the grass at my old elementary school with three of my best girls and just soaked it in. Flew to Montreal to see the handsomest, most amazing man I know (also known as, my future fiancé, although that wasn’t confirmed quite yet ;) ), and ventured around the city with him for a week. Flew home. Laid low for a while. Drove tractor and baler. Made a few hundred bales. Went to a wedding. Visited people.

July: Laid low for a while. Drove tractor and baler. Made a few hundred bales. Went to a wedding. Visited people. (see a theme here?) Worked as a camp nurse for a week. Drove tractor and baler. Applied for jobs. Washed my car. It rained. Had a job interview.

August: Picked up the handsomest, most amazing man I know (also known as, my future fiancé, although that wasn’t confirmed quite yet ;) ) at the airport. Tried on some bridesmaid dresses for my other future sister-in-law’s wedding (which was confirmed! still is ;) ). Visited people. Went on a date. Got 14 free nursing textbooks. Had some pizza. Got kidnapped by a wild group of girl campers. Thrown in a water pool. Thrown in the back of an ATV. Tied to a tree. Rescued by a wild group of war-painted boy campers, led by the handsomest, most amazing man I know. He got down on one knee. Got engaged. Played some soccer. Laid low for a while. Had a birthday. Visited some people. Had a job interview. Got hired. Simultaneously hiked a mountain and had engagement photos taken. Dropped off the handsomest, most amazing man I know (also known as, my future fiancé, which was confirmed! still is ;) ) at the airport. Realized August had only been around for 17 days. Realized it was one crazy month. Bought a wedding dress. Started working full time. Baked some cookies. Visited my pregnant friend. Visited some other people.

September: Continued working full time. Slept. Hung blackout curtains. Slept. Took blackout curtains down. Continued working full time. Made some Skype calls. Went to a wedding. Visited people. Laid low for a while. Read a good book. Continued working full time. Took a course to save tiny people’s lives. Visited some people. Continued working full time.

Aaaaand now it’s October.

Oh, my life.

No wonder I’m tired.

My apologies for not carrying through on promises made, like “I’ll post more once we get back to Kona and my life isn’t strewn all over my hotel room,” or “I’ll have to blog about that later!” or “It’s a long story… I’ll write a blog about it.”

Maybe someday I will write about those things. Then again, maybe I’ll tell them to you in person over a good pair of chai lattes.
For now, I’m going to go drink some egg nog and eat a cookie and read a book (I’ve got three or four on the go at the moment) and go to bed.

And I will leave you with this:

My life has been a seriously-amazing-crazy sort of crazy over the last few months. But I’ve come to realize, as Grace Hopper and/or John Shedd said, ” A ship in port is safe; but that is not what ships are built for. Sail out to sea and do new things.” And the thing about being a ship out of harbor and out of my comfort zone is that no matter where I go, not matter what comes, I have an Anchor that will never let me go (Hebrews 6:19) and for that I am more thankful than ever before.

Peace and blessings.

Jenn

 

One thought on “life is good. crazy… but good.

  1. Aww, Jenn!!! I missed reading your blog, and I’m so glad you’re back. Please update as much as possible :D
    Mish you!!!

Leave a Reply

