Creature of Habit

My name is Jenn, and I’m a creature of habit.

When I drive from my parent’s house to Grande Prairie (which has been three times in the last two weeks), I always take the same route. Take the same bypasses around the same towns. Fuel up at the same gas station (which, incidentally, has the cheapest fuel and is run by this great family. My experience there is always fantastic!). Drive the same speed on the same road. Pass the same landmarks and the same buildings. See the same farmers in the same fields.

Today, I was feeling a little nostalgic, so I took a different route.

This highway (Highway 59) runs through a couple small towns and hamlets, and is a perfectly straight road other than two correction curves. For an entire half hour, you can drive the speed limit on an empty road and enjoy the view.

This is the road that my Dad and I took countless times during my childhood, on the way to Sexsmith Used Farm Parts for one part or another for our farm equipment. I have a lot of good memories of road trips and adventures on that road.

Today’s trip down that road, though entirely out of habit, was good for my heart. With the scents and sights of wheat harvest around me and the sun peeking out from the clouds to shine on Grande Prairie as I entered it, I felt that today’s decision was a good one.

Being a creature of habit can be good. Sometimes, though, being a creature of spontaneity can be just as good. One just has to be willing to take the leap. Or, in my case, willing to take the left turn off the beaten path.

Leave a Reply

