From the kitchen of a muffin enthusiast…

It’s no secret that I love to bake.

When I get stressed out, or frustrated, or hungry, I whip out my mixing bowl and one of my many cookbooks, and mix up some goodness.

I’ve had the occasional bad baking day, but usually I end up with something delicious and delightful to eat a little of and encourage my roommates to eat before I gain 50 pounds. Haha.

Tonight, I wrote 2 hours worth of a Political Science final… and decided it was time for some baking therapy to finish off my night and relax a bit.

So this is what I came up with! And I’m sharing the recipe so that you, too, can create some muffin masterpieces. Enjoy!

Jenn’s Chocobana Chip Muffins

(This recipe is adapted from the “Banana Muffins” recipe by Britney Wall in the B.C. 4-H Cookbook from 2002)

Ingredients:
3 bananas (1 1/2 cups mashed)
1 egg, slightly beaten
3/4 cup white sugar
1/3 cup butter or margarine, melted
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Mash bananas. Whisk in sugar and slightly beaten egg. Add melted butter. Add dry ingredients, and mix until blended. Fold in chocolate chips. Spoon into lined or greased muffin tin and bake at 350˚F for 20 minutes. Cool and enjoy!

Note: If you have lots of overripe bananas, I like to peel them and stick them in groups of 2 or 3 in freezer bags and freeze them. Then, when I want to make a batch of muffins, all I have to do is take out one bag, defrost it, mash the bananas while still in the bag, and voila! Perfect mashed banana. Works every time.
Also, I’ve adapted this recipe using applesauce, berries in place of chocolate chips, or whatever else I’ve got kicking around the kitchen. As someone once told me, “You’ve gotta live a little!”

Happy baking! :)

Leave a Reply

