what makes Christmas special…

Just a little explanation of why Christmas is so wonderful to me.

C
Christ is King.
Christmas always reflects to me how very much God loves us, and the sacrifice Jesus went through for me. It never ceases to amaze me, every single time I think about it. God’s greatest gift is why I celebrate Christmas.

H
Hope.
A new year is just around the corner, bringing with it new opportunities, changes, and a clean slate to begin on. And, knowing that Jesus came to be with us, and to save us, is the best hope of all.

R
Reflection.
The end of the year enables me to look back, remembering what I’ve done, who has influenced me, who I have influenced, how my life has changed, and what I’d like to change for next year.

I
Ingenious gifts!
I love to give gifts that just suit the person who is receiving them. I am so excited to give some of these gifts this year! I just know they’ll be perfect!

S
Seasonal smells.
I love how Christmas smells. Pine trees, cinnamon, freshly baked cookies, potpourri, snow, the list goes on.

T
Traditions.
I love how my family opens our gifts on Christmas Eve, in honour of our Swiss heritage. And the little things that we do, every Christmas, that make it so special.

M
Music.
I love Christmas music. It’s so reverent and joyful at the same time. I love singing, caroling, playing, and just listening to Christmas music. It’s so amazing.

A
Advent.
I find it so neat to count down Christmas with Advent! It’s such a tradition for me to have the four Sundays of Advent remembered and celebrated, and ponder the specific gifts given to us through Jesus as a result. And, the 25 days of Advent can be so fun! This year, I’m doing “25 days of scarves” and wearing a different style of scarf every day before Christmas, using a YouTube video. :o)

S
Snow.
There’s just something about a white Christmas. Going outside and singing under a light snowfall is, to me, one of the most beautiful things on earth. Not to mention what snow enables, like snowboarding! and hockey! and snowmen, and snow angels, and snowball fights, and….

So there you have it: why Christmas is so special to me. Have a merry Christmas! I hope you find joy and get the chance to celebrate what makes this season so special.

I love that we all have unique favourite things and traditions during Christmas. What are yours?

Leave a Reply

